MTConnect Institute Appoints New Leadership Team

New board and executive team members will take office in December.

News Item From: 11/20/2013 Modern Machine Shop

The MTConnect Institute (McLean, Virginia) has announced its new leadership team, which will take effect at the annual meeting of its board of directors on December 11. The developer and administrator of MTConnect, the open-source standard for communication between manufacturing equipment and devices, has appointed new members to both its board of directors and administrative team.

Courtney Hill, president of CJ Hill Consulting Services and retired general manager of manufacturing and quality at GE Aviation, will become president and chairman of the board. Mr. Hill has been involved in MT Connect from its origins and most recently served as chair of the Technical Advisory Group (TAG). He succeeds David A. Edstrom, CEO/CTO of Virtual Photos Electrons, who has completed his term.

Schott Hibbard, vice president of technology at Bosch Rexroth, will replace Mr. Hill as chair of the TAG. Thomas Kurfess, HUSCO/Ramirex distinguished chair in fluid power and motion control and professor of mechanical engineering at Georgia Tech, has been appointed to the MTConnect Board of Directors.

Paul Warndoff, vice president of manufacturing technology at AMT—The Association for Manufacturing Technology, will continue his role as secretary for the MTConnect Institute for an additional three-year term. Ralph Resnick, president and executive director of the National Center for Defense Manufacturing and machining (NCDMM) will also extend his service as director of the Institute for an additional three-year term.

MTConnect Institute, visit

Channel Partners
  • Techspex