MTConnect Institute Trustees Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Dr. Stephan Biller is vice president of Watson IoT at IBM, while Dr. Tom Kurfess is chief manufacturing officer at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.


Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

MTConnect Institute board of trustee members Stephan Biller, Ph.D., and Tom Kurfess, Ph.D., have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in recognition of professional excellence in engineering. Members of NAE are elected by their peers for outstanding contributions to research, practice, education, technology, advancing engineering, innovative approaches to engineering and outstanding leadership. 

Dr. Biller serves as the vice president of Watson IoT at IBM Corp. He was elected to NAE for leadership and advancement of manufacturing technologies and innovations based on the internet of things (IoT) and digital data. 

Dr. Kurfess serves as chief manufacturing officer at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He was elected to NAE for development and implementation of innovative digital manufacturing technologies and system architectures. 

“The harmonization of standards is a critical step in the advancement of IoT in the manufacturing industry, and Dr. Biller has contributed significantly to our strategic vision of open, standards-based solutions,” says Tim Shinbara, MTConnect Institute board officer. “Dr. Biller has been instrumental in the development and advancement of a model-based MTConnect standard. Dr. Kurfess has contributed to the interoperability of the standard and leveraging digital technologies to advance manufacturing.”

“The National Academy of Engineering sets the absolute highest standards for technical leadership in the U.S., and it is a great honor to be elected to this esteemed institution,” says Dr. Kurfess. “My election citation relates directly to work happening at the MTConnect Institute and highlights the importance and timeliness of all of our efforts in the digital manufacturing area.”